Chapter 20 – Part 7

 

Becky sat quietly beside him. She was pulling the seam on her shirt. “I’m sorry, too, Mark,” she said without looking up. “Especially about your father. It must have been hard…” Her voice trailed off.

“Yeah, buddy.”

“Sorry, dude,” George echoed.

Jennifer put down the jellybeans on her lap with a frown.

“I don’t know why you guys are apologizing,” she said.  “I’m the one who should be blamed. I let John put ideas into my head, got carried away–”

Mark raised both of his hands as though to cut her off. “Whoa,” he said jokingly. “What’s this? An apology contest?”

The others looked at one another in embarrassment, then burst into a long and hard laughter.

“Me, too,” Mark said after the laughter died down. The others regarded him with a look of surprise in their eyes.

 

 

apologies7

